Landgoed Kasteel Daelenbroek built atop the foundations of a 14th century castle. Careful restoration and rebuilding with a focus on maintaining historical accuracy have allowed the finished product to show a unique ambience. Kasteel Daelenbroeck can be divided into three main sectors, each with their own unique look.
Crossing the moat and passing through the massive gate in the Voorburcht you will reach the idyllic courtyard. The courtyard is surrounded by the terrace, the restaurant, the former coach house which has been transformed into the Garden Hall and several other halls. In the Voorburcht one can also find the Tower room and the “Baron de Raville” suite.
Within the Van Pallandt Hall one will find our specialty restaurant. “Specialty”, because the head chef of this restaurant primarily focuses on using the freshest local and seasonal ingredients when creating dishes for the menu. This use of local and seasonal ingredients allows Kasteel Daelenbroeck to truly display the Burgundian delicacies Limburg has to offer.
Our courtyard, and especially the terrace, is the perfect place to cool off after a long hike or simply to relax and come to peace in the unique ambience of the Voorburcht.
The restoration of the foundations of the Hoofdburcht, which were truly only discovered by chance, came to completion in 1999. The restoration of the Hoofdburcht focused on maintaining the original medieval style of building, creating the unique look it is now known for.
The Hoofdburcht contains the Ridderzaal, the Rentmeester room and several smaller 14th century vaults. These can all be connected to create a ball room for events of up to 450 persons. This size makes the Hoofdburcht the ideal location for any type of festivity, dinner or event. The historic ambience of the halls makes any gathering held within them a unique experience.
In the Kasteelhoeve one will find 16 luxurious Split-level suites. These suites are all fitted with a comfortable living room on the ground floor and a bathroom and bedroom on the first floor, to be reached by a staircase. Every room has its own terrace with a view of either the courtyard or the Voorburcht.
At Landgoed Kasteel Daelenbroek every single room is unique. Every room has its own theme, among others , “Romantic” or “Summer” or “Symphony”.
Landgoed Kasteel Daelenbroek dates back to the start of the 14th century, or to be more precise, 1311.
Godfried van Heinsberg, feudal lord of Wassenberg but born in the county of Gulik, bought a large piece of land from Jan van Asenray and decided to take the swamp-like area of the Roerdal and build an estate. Over the following years this estate changed hands between several different members of the local nobility, who each put their own mark on the estate.
This changing of hands continued until halfway through the 80-year war, when in 1598 the castle was besieged and the Hoofdburcht ended up being brought to ruin. The next point of importance is in 1707, when, after the death of the previous owner, Hattardt van Pallandt, and a short war between his sons, the estate changed hands to Jan Ernest van Rollingen. The aforementioned war between the sons and the litigation was so costly, however, that Jan was unable to restore the Hoofdburcht and decided to live in the Voorburcht and use materials from the Hoofdburcht to restore the Voorburcht.
The fact that the last known inhabitant of the estate only used the Voorburcht meant that until 1999 the Voorburcht was presumed to be the entire castle. In that year, however, research into the foundations of the Voorburcht caused the ruins of the Hoofdburcht to be rediscovered. For the owner of the estate at the time this was a signal to start the restoration process in order to maintain this cultural heritage of Central Limburg. This made the decision to restore the Hoofdburcht in a historically accurate style easy to make and so restoration commenced.
Whilst the first few years of restoration really only resulted in the restoration of the basement rooms, by 2009 two of the three towers, the Square and Round towers, had been restored. And finally in 2012 the restoration was completed when the final tower, the Octagonal tower, and the Guard House were completed.